Creative Entrepreneurship

The idea of starting a business has been brewing for some time among my friends and I. It takes courage and conviction, but the payoff could be good in terms of monetary payoff and impact on a field.

I think the direction I would want to head in is some sort of creative consulting. But this would not be anything new. There are creative consultants in many fields, and they have to do with marketing, advertising, and positioning a product in a new and meaningful way. What I think I would like to pursue is creative problem solving. Actually helping in the design process for products that, preferable, are dedicated to helping people be creative. I like to deal with creativity at a meta-level and think about how it works and how to facilitate it.

I’ve been starting to work on the neuroscience of creativity by integrating biofeedback into the creative process using NeuroSky’s MindSet. In my most recent PhD project, I am recording brainwaves to analyze how creativity affects the mind, and also to integrate those neural impulses into the creative process.

I’ve long dreamed of a creative medium that directly interfaces with the brain and allows one to dream up creations and then manipulate them with the hands. Very similar to an early video that envisions the future of augmented reality in World Builder:

Augmented reality is now taking hold and smartphones are driving its use and utility up. The interface for communicating intent to the machine is an interesting one. At this point in time, brain computer interfaces are rather crude, and the software I’ve developed works on a kind of continuum with a loose and rather choppy control scheme that does not allow for fine grained detection. This could be in part because I am not used to interacting with the technology, but I fear it is an inherent limitation of the device. However, the devices will continue to increase in their precision, as technology always does, and I will continue to design for what works now, and try to dream the future for tomorrow.

I think being able to dream up ideal technology and devices is a unique artistic ability that my experience has given me. Compared to the engineers I am sometimes surrounded with, I have an ability to just dream up what could be and shoot towards that, rather than having the software dictate how the interaction should be structured. I would rather have a half implemented (but adequately functioning) technology that has identifiable extensions in the future rather than a technologically deterministic creation that is outdated as soon as it comes out.

Yet, a lot of times, engineers are trained to know their materials well and design within their contsraints. Artists are trained to break boundaries and constantly explore and challenge themselves. Well at least some are. And I think these types of innovations are what my creative consulting firm would offer.

I would like to specialize in technology that somehow makes an individual more creative and increases quality of life through creativity. I would pursue this direction because I personally feel that the purpose of human existence is to create. To learn and grow is to know ever more refined and intricate methods of creation and knowledge of how to create one’s life in various capacities. Knowing the extent to which life is a creation is a constant mystery that introduces new unknowns at each turn.

Leave a Reply

